1st Attempt At Milky Way Photography

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

agrumpybirdphotographer

Supporting Member
Marketplace
A while back I asked for some advice on lens recommendations for some Milky Way photography. Based on the very helpful advice from the good people on here I decided to pick up a used 20mm f1.8 F lens and give it a go on a recent break. This is my first attempt, the skies weren’t perfectly clear or dark but its gave me food for though for trying again in future.

IMG_0308.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

A while back I asked for some advice on lens recommendations for some Milky Way photography. Based on the very helpful advice from the good people on here I decided to pick up a used 20mm f1.8 F lens and give it a go on a recent break. This is my first attempt, the skies weren’t perfectly clear or dark but its gave me food for though for trying again in future.

View attachment 97334

Nice start and good luck going forward. I dabbled in astrophotography and really enjoyed it, but when I lived in Illinois it would have required me to drive hours to get to someplace dark. The darkness will greatly impact your results. I am including one photo from a sky not dark enough and one from Arches (a designated dark sky park), and you can really see the difference.