Africa sunrise sunset photos

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I will be headed to Africa next month and was wondering if you handhold for sunset animal scenes or pack a travel tripod?

Thanks,

Gerry
Travel with a tripod is getting more difficult these days. As a commercial pilot I lived and worked out of Nairobi for a year in 1982 and there were tons of photography stores in town. You might want to consider buying a cheapo tripod in Nairobi just for early evening shots (assuming you have the time to do so). Otherwise you might consider bringing a very small and light weight tripod with you. I never regret having one of mine with me.

I will be headed to Africa next month and was wondering if you handhold for sunset animal scenes or pack a travel tripod?

Thanks,

Gerry
You might also consider a couple of other items instead of a tripod. A fillable bean bag to support your camera lens over the doorway of the vehicle is a good investment and light weight. Another option is a clamp that you can mount a ball head to, and then attach it to the window frame of the vehicle. Both options are light weight and don't take up a lot of room.

You might also consider a couple of other items instead of a tripod. A fillable bean bag to support your camera lens over the doorway of the vehicle is a good investment and light weight. Another option is a clamp that you can mount a ball head to, and then attach it to the window frame of the vehicle. Both options are light weight and don't take up a lot of room.
I tried looking for a clamp that might attach to the roof of the vehicle. I will be in one where the roof top raises up, but really couldnt find what I was looking for.