Are these images unexpectedly soft? (D500 / 500pf)

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hey friends. I’ve been shooting wildlife for around six months and have been learning a lot, however I still consider myself a beginner. So I welcome any feedback of while exploring this.

I feel the images below are pretty soft. Some are at distance / in sub-optimal lighting, but I still wonder if they should be better. Knowing this will help align my expectations.

They're shot RAW and exported from Lightroom using 2048px without crop/edits. In addition, here’s a Flickr album with additional examples. They’re screenshots of NX Studio showing the focus points (one at 100% zoom, one at no zoom).

Details:
  • AF Mode: AF-C
  • Stationary: single-point AF
  • BIF: sometimes Dynamic AF (72pt?), sometimes Group AF. NX Studio seems to make it look like single-point (one square), but it’s assumed to be Dynamic or Group when BIF
  • VR: Sport (I tend to leave this on. Yet to try turning it off for 1000+ shutter speed)
  • Posture: Handheld. Generally try use 560+ shutter speed for stationary targets, 1000+ for mobile targets, 2000+ for BIF. Mindful movement / tracking / breath control. Not bumping the manual focus ring
  • Time: typically sunset. Sometimes high-noon because #life
  • AFFT: -4 (a recent change)
  • Other: lens hood w/ neoprene wrap
I ask because I feel like I was getting better shots with the 200-500 (sold for the 500pf). It’s hard to imagine the 500pf is performing worse than the 200-500. I also changed where I’ve been shooting. I tend to visit one specific wildlife area, and I haven’t ruled out that it could be posing its own challenges (distance, lighting, atmosphere). That said, I assume the setup would excel there, but I could be wrong.