Aurora Borealis photography locations

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Matt N

Supporting Member
Marketplace
Although I'm primarily a wildlife photographer, one of my goals is to photograph the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights). Does anyone have suggestions for good destinations for this and possibly photography-centric guides. I can't spend too much on a guide though since the airfair, hotel, car, etc. will probably eat up most of my budget. I'm particularly interested in a location that would offer wildlife opportunities during the day or if the aurora borealis doesn't show.

Another vote for Iceland. We went over Thanksgiving week a couple of years ago. Rented a beautiful little cottage through VRBO on the Snaefellsness Peninsula; that area is good for Lights photos because there is hardly any light pollution, it is reasonably close to Reykjavik (roads can get iffy in the winter), and there is a huge national park on the peninsula that is virtually empty in the winter. Plus, Iceland is in general much warmer than other Borealis destinations--temps in the 20s when we were there. We would head out about 7 pm, find a nice location, set up the camera and tripod next to the little 4WD we had rented, then sit in the car to stay warm and wait for the light show. No way could I sit outside for hours waiting for the lights to appear.