Autofocus absolutely useless for video!

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

sh1209

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I have been doing video for several years and been more serious about it for the last 4-5 years and I have found at least with wildlife, autofocus really has no use whatsoever. This has held true with numerous Nikon bodies and now three different Sony bodies. No matter the settings, whether it be enabling breathing compensation or merely slowing the focus speed down, you always get the glitchy footage. Unless there's something I am doing wrong, I have found no solution to the problem. I have been acquiring focus lately with autofocus and immediately switching to Manual focus which solves the problem. This week I did some video and used autofocus on the A6700 I recently purchased and it performs exactly the same as all other cameras I've tried. I think for now unless something changes, I'll be sticking with full manual when it comes to video. Perhaps in different scenarios such as filming people it would be better, especially with wide angle lenses but with long zooms they all suck lol.

I hear ya Steve. I shoot Canon EOS R7 and while AF for stills is really good AF for video is less so. Whenever possible, I try to start the video "early" to allow it to capture focus and then trim in post. I don't do big focus pulls in my videos frequently and when I do, it's manual focus. I am not a video shooter and just thought it was something wrong with my technique. Sorry to hear you're having the same problem but it is always comforting to learn we may not be the only ones.

Jeff