Beech or stone marten (martes foina).

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Jaap L

Supporting Member
Marketplace
This is my first time posting for critique, hoping that I can learn from all of your experiences. I took this capture of a stone marten during a night shoot in a photohut, owned by a wildlife photographer in my neighborhood. I have my own opinions on this shot and its post procesing (in Photoshop Elements 2020) but could use some more experienced eyes. Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Nikon D7200, Tamrom 150-600 mm G2, 1/250, f/5.6, ISO 5000, fl 280mm.
d72_201118_stone marten-BCG.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!
Very cool wildlife subject and nice job with the night shoot which isn't the easiest thing.

The composition and pose are nice as is the open mouth and bit of snarl. Nice capture.

From a post processing standpoint I'd probably clone out that bit of white wash on the log in front of it's face. I might also try a bit of subtle burning down of the somewhat bright background branch that aligns with the marten's mouth as that sucks contrast and pop from the image. The only other thing I see on this web sized image is that it might be a tad soft around the eye and maybe a bit of selective sharpening or some careful contrast enhancement in that area might help a bit.

All in all, a very cool moment you captured there and nice job.

lighted well. Actually looks like a photo in a museum type setting of a mounted animal. Hell of a shot here.