Best Z8 settings when photographing black bears

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I'm new to mirrorless cameras having just gotten my Nikon Z8 in February. I'm doing well with it thanks to Steve's book about the Z8/Z9. One of my favorite subjects to shoot is black bears. I was wondering if anyone could share their preferred Z8 autofocus settings for black bears and any other settings that would help me get the best photo. It's on my bucket list to get a great photo of a black bear to hang on my wall. Thanks!

There’s a lot of variables here. Are the bears going to be sedentary or active and moving about. There’s different disciplines and needs for bears stealing apples from your orchard and the ones chasing salmon up and down a creek out West. Will you be shooting from a location of safety such as a house? How close can you realistically expect to approach. Bears are quick and unpredictable. You cannot get careless or complacent.

If you expect to be 20-40 yards, a 70-200 f/2.8 will serve you well. Longer shots, longer glass. Keep in mind a bear’s nose is second to none and will quickly sense your presence. You should be able to get sharp images of a slow moving black bear @ 1/1000 sec. Subject detection with the little “fox” icon for animals may be helpful. Focus on the eye. If the eye is not in focus you will not be happy with the image. If the bear is stationary, run that shutter down to 1/400-640 sec. That drops your ISO and your images will be better. This is one I got behind our house in the mountains of Rappahannock County, Virginia several years ago. I made some mistakes with this one. That’s wildlife photography.
LCS_0016.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.