CF Express cards, is the Delkin Power any good?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

aringer

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I have both a Delkin Black (512 GB) and a Delkin Power (2 TB). I have yet to max out the buffer with the Delkin Power, either shooting stills or video on my Z9 though don't do RAW video. So it depends on what type of shooting you do?
So far, just wildlife. With the new Z8, I'm wanting to learn how to do vide for short wildlife snippets in between shooting images.

I'm scratching my head, this 512GB card with 1730 read and 1540 write is only $179, a hundred bucks cheaper than the ProGrade cobalt I just bought with 325GB and the same read/write speeds. Am I missing something? I'm brand new to CF Express cards. Thanks
This is a very good value for a top notch, large capacity card. Highly recommended. I have a couple 325 gig Delkin Black, and a pair of the readers shown on the listing too. Delkin is top notch product, and they stand behind their products.

Yes - I have been using the Delkin Power 128 GB card for several years. Service is first rate if needed. I'm also using a Delkin reader.

That's a good deal on that card. Looks like a special promotion at B&H. Delkin does that regularly with a range of vendors.

The Delkin black card is a bit more durable. There may also be a difference in the minimum sustained write speed, but it's small. The reason to use Delkin Black is for 8k video - and even then the Delkin Power will be okay for some formats.

I have a pair of Delkin Power 128GB. I have used them in my D500 and a rented D850 and Z9. They perform quite well. The Blacks will be faster, but that's why they cost more. If you tend to be a high speed shutter masher as opposed to shooting in shorter bursts, it may be worthwhile to get the faster cards.