DxO Photolab -- time to bail?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Soopahmahn

Supporting Member
Marketplace
Wondering what the community here thinks. I turned up my nose at Adobe when I first got serious about post-processing, and settled on DxO PhotoLab (PL) because it was a one-time fee for the license and I actually owned the software. The RAW image processing, denoise and intelligent sharpening and dehaze functions are extremely well done. It also bought some excellent film presets.

However, I wanted to try my hand at some composites, so I got an Adobe subscription to try Photoshop, and then fell in love with Lightroom Classic and Mobile...

I could continue to use PL as my RAW file processor and denoiser, but I just really like the workflow and masking tools in LRC. And, unfortunately, PL just isn't supported at the same level as LRC, in terms of creation of new tools in response to user request etc. It's not dead in the water, but they still don't have any kind of subject or sky detection, mask intersection tools...

Should I just forget about it and stick with LRC? I'm going to keep the subscription regardless.

I use photolab with Adobe products. A usual workflow would be to start in lightroom then use the plug in extras menu to send the image to photolab. Sometimes I will do the denoise and lens corrections only in photolab and return to lightroom to use lightroom tools and then on to photoshop. More often I will do a more extensive raw edit in photolab and export the resulting tiff to photoshop to finish, then save back to lightroom to keep it in the library for easy organizing.

There are a lot of options to integrate it into a lightroom/photoshop workflow.