Is the Epson L3250 good for printing at home?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hi everyone,

I live in a rural area and finding a printing service here is not easy, I saw this Epson L3250 and it looks like it will do the job in my home office, my question is, will it be good for printing my photos on glossy photo paper also? I am not a professional who sells photos, but I would like to print my photos to give to friends and family as gifts and make calendars , those type of things.

Thanks,

Callie

That printer is 4 color. You may want to look at the SureColor P700 or P900 which are 9 color Pigment printers. They say 10 color but you can't use both blacks at once. One is gloss, one mat. I have the P-800 8 color and am very satisfied. A good used P600 or P800 is a good choice too.

I use a Brother Laser/scanner for business.

I don’t know this particular printer but judging from what I see on line it has I think four cartridges and is a less expensive model.

Inkjet printers print color photos better than laser and Epson is a quality photo print manufacturer.

That being said if you are critical about your photo printing you need to match the print to the paper and the printer. To do this effectively your monitor needs to be calibrated so the image on your screen matches what it will look like after printing. Monitor quality also matters.

In addition higher quality photo printers tend to have a larger number of cartridges.

I have the Epson P9000 and I think it is an excellent photo printer for use at home. They cost a little more than $1k but I found a reconditioned one for about $850. Epson makes a smaller unit capable of printing up to 13 inches wide but I think the P9000 size makes more sense if you are going to get serious about printing at home.