Long exposure pano query

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hi all. I'm mainly a bird photographer, but i would like to take some long exposure panoramas during my trip to New Zealand. I'll be using my Canon 6D dslr and a 10 stop nd filter. I understand how to use this setup for single shots, but with a pano i'll be taking multiple images to stich in post. So, my question is, it would seem i'd need to remove the filter between shots so as to be able to see the scene in order to move the camera to overlap the previous shot. Is there another way? I believe Nikon allows this by going into shutter priority mode. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Hi all. I'm mainly a bird photographer, but i would like to take some long exposure panoramas during my trip to New Zealand. I'll be using my Canon 6D dslr and a 10 stop nd filter. I understand how to use this setup for single shots, but with a pano i'll be taking multiple images to stich in post. So, my question is, it would seem i'd need to remove the filter between shots so as to be able to see the scene in order to move the camera to overlap the previous shot. Is there another way? I believe Nikon allows this by going into shutter priority mode. Thanks in advance.

I remember a tripod head that had markings for panos but can't remember the brand. IIRC it basically had compass type markings on the baseplate so you could move the camera precisely.

Don't know if any of these was the one I was thinking of:

If you’re only doing single row, it’s pretty straight forward. Many heads have a 390 deg. graduated base. I like about 1/3 overlap. Just work out how many degrees rotation for each frame. I do a test shoot without any filters before committing. Make sure you’re set up nice and level. I shoot in portrait orientatio.