Looking for resources/guidance on post-processing -ideas.....

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hi all:

I've been photographing birds for about 3 years now (in RAW) and I'm pretty happy with the shots I'm taking but I'm really struggling with how to be better at post-processing. I'm using DXO Photolab and I have a good handle on all of its features. My problem is I don't know what to use when, if that makes sense.

For example, I might watch a photography video where someone says, "you'll want to pull down the shadows to make this really pop". And I go, "that's awesome!" but I never would have thought of it because I don't really understand, yet, what I need to do.

So, long post to say, what are some good resources (books, YT vids, etc.) to teach me what I want to do in post?

Thanks and I hope this makes sense.

You might be interested in the tutorials linked below specific to DXO. Also, Photolab is very similar to Lightroom as far as the types of settings and sliders offered, so you tube tutorials related to Lightroom should be easy to transfer the general idea. Just open YouTube and search. Searching for Photolab gives some results but searching for Lightroom gives a lot more.

Last edited:
If you want an overview of the steps in digital photo processing, try this page https://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/digital-photo-editing-workflow.htm

It’s a bit specific to editors like Photoshop or Affinity Photo where layers control the sequence of processing, and a little less applicable to DxO or Capture One, but the logic of the workflow helped me understand how to get from a raw image to a finished photograph.