Macbook Air M2 - how is it handling LrC Rel 13 and 45MP files?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

calcal

Carol
Supporting Member
Marketplace
I'm thinking of buying a Macbook Air for traveling/leaving the house with. My primary computer is a heavy Macbook Pro M1 16" connected to a 32"monitor. My old 13 in Macbook Pro is ready to be retired. I would like something smaller and lighter to travel with and occasionally use Lightroom when I'm not at home. Not sure about the 13" vs 15" yet.

How is the M2 Air handling the latest release of LrC with 45MP raw files.

Advice??

Will depend on your GPU specs that you choose mostly. Yes get decent RAM but much of LrC like denoise is GPU dependent these days.

I have a 2018 Intel MBA that needs replacing. One thing I am considering is that as soon as the M3‘s come out there will be great sales on the M2s. That will be next year though. BH had crazy deals on MBP M1’s fully loaded over the past 6 months.

Also do a comparison on sizes before you decide on the Air. You might think one of the MBPs is ok.

Something to keep in mind with the M1 and M2 macs, is that the memory is shared between CPU and GPU. There is no dedicated memory for the GPU like traditional Intel/AMD machines. So I would recommend getting at least 16gb of memory and possibly 24gb (the max for Macbook Air).

I had WRONGLY assumed you configure the GPU specs on the MBA. I would say it could be a nonstarter for me with only 10GPU to use for photo processing. I just looked at the Apple site. I agree with @randomwalk that 24gb CPU would be the minimum but you really need to have someone that has a MBA give you the time it takes to do a task you would care about. I would suggest Denoise AI in LRc. My 2018 MBA would be 45 min vs 30-45 seconds on my MBP M1 with 24 GPU.