My audio setup

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

sh1209

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I’ve been experimenting for a couple months or so and have returned a couple items in the process to find a good solution for capturing environmental sounds. I am using a zoom H5, Rode videomic ntg, MagMod adjustable handle, a small portable nightstand and a shock mount for the recorder. I am recording with the x/y top microphones in conjunction with the shotgun mic. I’m contemplating adding a small omnidirectional lav mic on the 4th channel in the future. The recorder does 24bit recording and so far the setup has worked really well. It’s very lightweight and easy to hike with. A lot of times I go out just to capture audio only which is fun. I will normally always capture audio with the camera as well for redundancy which makes matching the tracks a breeze in post if needed.

IMG_0665.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.
IMG_0664.jpeg
IMG_0663.jpeg

I’ve been experimenting for a couple months or so and have returned a couple items in the process to find a good solution for capturing environmental sounds. I am using a zoom H5, Rode videomic ntg, MagMod adjustable handle, a small portable nightstand and a shock mount for the recorder. I am recording with the x/y top microphones in conjunction with the shotgun mic. I’m contemplating adding a small omnidirectional lav mic on the 4th channel in the future. The recorder does 24bit recording and so far the setup has worked really well. It’s very lightweight and easy to hike with. A lot of times I go out just to capture audio only which is fun. I will normally always capture audio with the camera as well for redundancy which makes matching the tracks a breeze in post if needed.
Nice setup Steve. You always produce very good audio IMO. (y)