Need some help with Z8 flash photography

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

RickW

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I went to shoot this week with my Z8 and a flash on a bracket with ttl cord. It was indoor in a dark room at f8 at 1/250th of a second at iso 3200 or 6400 and when I looked through the electronic viewfinder. the image was very dark - it was although I had pressed a depth of field preview button and the aperture stopped down to f8. I didn't intentionally change any of the "normal" settings that I shoot with. I'm new to the Z8 and haven't shot many indoor scenes, but I have never had the viewfinder darken so much. Any idea what I actually set to get this stopped down view?

I went to shoot this week with my Z8 and a flash on a bracket with ttl cord. It was indoor in a dark room at f8 at 1/250th of a second at iso 3200 or 6400 and when I looked through the electronic viewfinder. the image was very dark - it was although I had pressed a depth of field preview button and the aperture stopped down to f8. I didn't intentionally change any of the "normal" settings that I shoot with. I'm new to the Z8 and haven't shot many indoor scenes, but I have never had the viewfinder darken so much. Any idea what I actually set to get this stopped down view?
If you remove the flash cord do you see anything different?

Sounds to me that in a dark room with the camera set to manual exposure mode, 1/250" f/8 and even ISO 6400 (fixed ISO) the image would likely be very dark and under exposed which if you're doing total flash photography and don't want much if any exposure from ambient light sounds correct.