New PC laptop storage setup question

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I'm configuring a new windows laptop. My current laptop has a 1TB SSD internal drive of which I have used 387 GB. I use a 2 TB EHD to store my photos on which I have 860 GB of files. I could keep the same setup for the new laptop or I could get a larger 4 TB SSD internal drive. I find this attractive because I wouldn't have to have an EHD dangling off my laptop. I use the laptop around the house and around town. When I travel I use a surface and 2 EHD's for backup. The laptop is my main machine for editing and home use. I am a hobby photographer. I'm still using my D500. I plan to make the jump to mirrorless in the future and assume that would mean larger file sizes after I make the switch. I backup with carbonite.

Is there a downside to putting all my files on an internal drive? Is there a higher risk of drive failure the larger the drive capacity? Will this somehow change my editing speed? I use ACR and photoshop on the CC plan. I've been using an EHD for so long I'm having trouble wrapping my mind around the concept of not using one.

Thank you in advance.

Will there be an internal SSD drive? I find it useful to have the operating system, program files, and my Lightroom catalog on the internal SSD, since it is fast. I organize image files by year, one folder for each year, but use only one Lightroom catalog to cover all years. I keep these folders on the internal non ssd drive until I starf to run out of space then I move a year to an external drive but keep the catalog linked.

Also keep your backup plan in mind as a separate thing from your working files.