New to Nikon

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Just purchased a Nikon Z8 and when switching from manual to manual Auto ISO the iso auto text in the viewfinder constantly flashes? I have no iso sensitivity restrictions set. The DX icon will flash or can be turned off. Not so for the iso auto? Just seems annoying. Am I missing something here?

I'm also new to Nikon and got my Z8 a few weeks ago. Still a lot to learn.
Currently reading Steve's setup guide. Highly recommended.

Just checked, it flashes on mine too. I've not noticed this before.
Took some test shot, all fine and correctly exposed.
So far, for birds I've mostly used full manual mode and for landscape and macro I've used aperture priority with ISO 64 or 100.

I guess that's the way it is then. Just seems silly. Distracting. Maybe hound Nikon to include in a firmware update to at least have the option of turning it off. I am also trying to understand the usefulness of "normal" VR. Image jumps out of composition. Also seems to be the norm. Everyone just uses "sport" mode. What use is normal?

I thought that was the case at first. I have no restrictions on iso. Wide open. It just wants to keep reminding you you're in Auto ISO over and over and over............like a broken traffic light. When selecting DX mode it also flashes by default but you can go into menu and disable it so it does not keep flashing. I guess not so with Auto ISO setting. Amazing.

Just purchased a Nikon Z8 and when switching from manual to manual Auto ISO the iso auto text in the viewfinder constantly flashes? I have no iso sensitivity restrictions set. The DX icon will flash or can be turned off. Not so for the iso auto? Just seems annoying. Am I missing something here?