Nikon Coolpix p900 I

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Ron G

Marketplace
Does anyone here have experience with the Nikon Coolpix p900? I'm intrigued by the ridiculous zoom feature they advertise. Is it real? What kind of image quality do you get?

I don't have a lot of experience with bridge cameras, but my experience has been that they take nice photos, but cropping isn't much of an option. That may have changed since I last used one.

I had one for a while, its one of the things that sparked my interest in wildlife photography. You can get some decent shots out of the camera, but like Icarus said, cropping is definitely not an option. If I'm not mistaken its also JPEG only, no RAW option.

I have extensive experience with Canon bridge cameras and they take some really nice photos. They are great as an everyday camera and when you travel but don’t wish to drag your DSLR stuff with you. The last one I purchased was a Canon SX40. That was 9 years ago and I still use it . It takes great video as well. Just JPEG but they are editable in Apple Photo app.

They are ok for a walk around however if you are used to the quality of a dslr, you're probably not going to be happy. The zooms are usually part optical and part digital, the spec will tell you what is what. They aren't good for action, af is way too slow. In dslr terms, think of an f5.6-8 lens on a dark, overcast day and you'll have about the best they will do. There might be an exception but in general, they are a compromise.