Nikon Z1.4tc - is anyone else having image quality issues?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I recently splashed out and got myself a Z8. At the same time I got a 100-400mm Z lens. Because most of my work is bird photography I also invested ( I say invested 'cos it's damn expensive) in the Z1.4tc.

I'm not a novice. I've been shooting birds and BIF for many years with a D500 and either a 500pf or a 200-500mm zoom. My results are pretty decent.

Since acquiring the Z8 I have used it almost exclusively with the 100-400mm + the 1.4tc as I am trying to learn what I can expect with this camera. The results have been very mixed. For closer shots, like things not moving, or the family dog, the results have been OK, but whenever I have tried to photograph BIF it has been a complete failure.
Even for some birds not in flight, with the camera mounted on a tripod, and the viewfinder telling me the subject is in focus (little green square) the result is not in focus.

Reviews I have read tell me that this tc should not adversely affect quality.

So do I have a dud tc, or as my Z8 is in the range for a recall due to lens mount issues (I'm currently waiting in a queue for Nikon to call it in), is it possible that even though I can mount and dismount lenses without a problem there is a small alignment issue which is causing these focus problems?

I doubt the 1.4 tele is causing any problems. It is more likely that you are experiencing what many of us learned......the focusing modes on the mirrorless cameras are more complex than our beloved DSLRs. It takes time to learn which mode is best in each situation.