Petapixel analyze Nikon acquisition of Red

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

The purchase will probably happen and, I hope it does. I don't shoot Nikon or RED so no dog in the "good or bad" hunt.

During my career, I was a project manager integrating systems through several major corporate acquisitions and divestitures. One thing that sometimes (more frequently than most of us really think about) is these deals will fall through. Sometimes it is because the legal teams cannot agree on some detail. Sometimes, and it happens pretty frequently, is another bidder will come out of the woodwork with a higher bid. Every pre purchase agreement I've seen has numerous "outs" for both companies along the process.

With RED being a private company, I'm not sure how or if the fiduciary thing works. In publicly traded companies, the management and board of directors has a fiduciary responsibility to the shareholders and if a stronger bid comes along, they are obligated to take it. Not sure how that works with a private company like RED. I'm sure the founder and CEO has some obligation to backers and stakeholders in the company.

Again, I hope this goes through, it would most likely be good for the industry. However, don't be surprised if one of the other players steps in to up the bid. Maybe even Canon since they have some kind of existing agreement with RED. However, to the best of my knowledge, RED cameras are not auto focus and maybe not any auto exposure mode therefore the canon mount lenses wouldn't communicate with the camera??? Don't know how that works.

Just thinking out loud here.

Jeff

The purchase will probably happen and, I hope it does. I don't shoot Nikon or RED so no dog in the "good or bad" hunt.