Problem with fill flash for hummingbird photography

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Abinoone

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I'm having a bit of trouble using my Nikon SB700 flashgun (with a Better Beamer extender) to photograph hummingbirds. My main objectives are to have a fast shutter speed (e.g. 1/3200 sec) and acceptably low ISO for the exposures. When I look through the viewfinder, ISO is shown at 320 with flash attached and active. The flash fires fine, but when I check the actual images the ISO is 10,000. What am I doing wrong? I have ISO set to Auto ISO in the camera - is this the problem? I don't often use fill flash, so I'm a bit of a novice. Any advice you might have would be much appreciated.

I will be watching this. I have only been able to use TTL for fill flash, ie less than the main light. When flash is the main light I shoot in full manual mode and lock the iso to 64, I have more than enough power for that. I use a Sekonic flash meter to get close and a histogram to confirm. The camera only seems to truly lock the iso with the flash trigger mounted and on. The camera is a Z7ii and works great in the studio if you play by it's rules.

Last edited:
When photographing hummers, I shoot fully manual.....no auto ISO.

When I shot hummers with flash in 2009 in British Columbia, I used the flash synch speed of 1/250 and f18-20. That is how the pro told me to do it! LOL! All the images in this gallery were shot using flash except the first two images which were shot in natural light. You can click on an image, then click the "i" (information) in the upper left corner to see the capture details.

In 2023 I shot hummers in Costa Rica using flash with two different approaches. Some with very fast shutter speeds - and some with 1/200-250 shutter speeds. You can view the capture data for each image.