Side mount gimbals

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Matt N

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I'm thinking about getting the ProMediaGear GKJr. Katana Pro side mount gimbal for wildlife for two reasons:
  • I have a regular gimbal and it's heavy and bulky
  • I'm interested in using it on a monopod as well as a tripod - dual purpose
Does anyone have experience with this item, and if so, what do you think? When you use a sidemount, can you let go of the camera/lens?

I've also looked at the Wimberly MH-100 and saw Steve's video on it. I'm considering that, but the GKJr. can also be used on a tripod, so that's a plus.

Initially I'd be using it with the Nikon 800pf, but could end up using it with other big primes at some point too.

Does this look like a good idea to you?

IMG_0604.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

I'm thinking about getting the ProMediaGear GKJr. Katana Pro side mount gimbal for wildlife for two reasons:
Does anyone have experience with this item, and if so, what do you think? When you use a sidemount, can you let go of the camera/lens?

I've also looked at the Wimberly MH-100 and saw Steve's video on it. I'm considering that, but the GKJr. can also be used on a tripod, so that's a plus.

Initially I'd be using it with the Nikon 800pf, but could end up using it with other big primes at some point too.
I’ve never used the PMG GK Jr. katana side mount. However, I’ve used a Wimberley sidekick with a ballhead as my gimbal on a tripod. The sidekick, as the name implies, is side-mounting. When properly balanced, the lens can be left alone without it falling forward or back.