Sony A1 video stabilization

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

FB101

On another thread we were discussing the various stabilization settings for video in the Sony A1 and I figured I post a really quick movie showing the differences I was referring to.

Please keep in mind the following:
1. I am just beginning shooting video so there is probably a ton that I am doing wrong
2. Just sharing my learning journey which is just starting, not professing I know any absolute truth on any of those questions
3. This is out of camera footage - unedited (except for 1 clip where I applied the in software digital stabilizer and is labeled as such), ungraded (S Cinetone profile which is good enough ungraded)
4. This footage was never meant to be seen, just my experimentations to learn how to improve so don't expect Nat Geo imagery
5. All shot with A1 and 200-600

That said, a few observations (many being quite obvious)

1. Focal length matters - footage is smoother at 400mm than 600mm
2. Wind matters A LOT at 600mm :) (duh)
3. Monopod helps a lot but tripod is better (not shown here but I tested that last year)
4. At 600mm handheld, lens stabilizer + Ibis is not enough
5. Adding in camera digital stabilizer helps a lot but still not smooth enough for me
6. Optical stabilization (lens and camera) + digital stabilization + monopod is starting to look good even at 4k30p
7. Optical stabilization (lens and camera) + digital stabilization + monopod is looking best at 4k 120p slowed 4 times (see the heron clip)
8. The digital stabilizer in iMovie is fairly rudimentary it seems and although it smooths things out I am not sure it's that useful (better tools exist I am sure)

Looking forward to any thoughts and suggestions on how to get my footage to the next level (besides carrying a tripod, which I will do for video ;) )