Suggested fee for photo licensing?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Ben C

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I’ve been approached by the developer of a nature app to use my photos of two species of birds for their app. They’ve asked my expectations for licensing. I sell prints occasionally but have never licensed a photo for a use like this and I have no idea what to charge. I don’t care that much about the money - licensing two photos is not exactly going to impact my lifestyle after all. I just think it would be neat to have my photos used in the app. But they are using it for a commercial purpose so they should pay something. I definitely don’t want to be greedy and I’m not a professional, but I also don’t want to harm actual professional photographers by undercutting the market. Any suggestions on what an appropriate range is for a licensing fee in this context would be much appreciated. Thanks.

……… I definitely don’t want to be greedy and I’m not a professional, but I also don’t want to harm actual professional photographers by undercutting the market……
Interesting comment. Pros will appreciate your “not undercutting “ them, but it seems to me that being offered compensation for permitting the use of your product means you ARE a professional. Perhaps a new pro, but a pro nevertheless . Too many folks conflate being a pro only with earning one’s living through photography activities.

Whether you consider yourself a “pro” or not, accepting money in exchange for a license does in fact put you in direct competition with those who you consider to be pros. Thinking about the impact you might have on the already difficult to navigate profession is something seldom done and I applaud you for it.