Thoroughly confused - cards for Z8

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

RickW

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I’m a photographer, not a tech geek and bought a Nikon Z8 with an eye towards transitioning away from my beloved dslr’s. I was under the impression that I needed to invest in CE cards and went out and spent a lot of coin on a bunch of 256 CE cards. I shoot a lot of sports, therefore a lot of images per outing. Now I think I just read that I could have used my gigantic collection of big capacity XQD cards accumulated while shooting with my Nikon DSLRs. Does using XQD cards in Z8 diminish the shooting/editing experience? Again, I’m not all that interested in theoretical upload/download speeds or buffers (cannot ever recall exceeding the buffer capacity on any shoot). A couple of moments “longer” using XQD is a price I am willing to pay if it permits me to stop wasting money on additional CEcards. Are XQD cards useable in the z8 and 9?

yes they are usable but will limit any burst shooting to short bursts and it will take longer to clear the buffer. but if it’s not a problem for you the. it’s not a problem

that said most of us shooting more action oriented subject matter tend to benefit from cfe-b cards as they have the potential of being dramatically faster. this results in the ability to shoot longer bursts, maintain a reasonably high frame rate even when you fill the buffer and the buffer clears dramatically faster

i like the delkin cards. the black model is their faster card, their power model is their more general purpose card, however if you get power cards at 640gb and above the performance goes up dramatically

older cards like the lexar and sandisk are known to run hot and i would avoid them