Thoughts on Promaster Gimbal

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Does anybody have experience of the Promaster Gimbal heads? I have been looking at them as the price is reasonable. However, I cannot find much in the way of reviews on the web, are they good or are they on the lower price range for a reason?

I have no experience with Promaster gimbals. However, I feel that gimbals are similar to tripods in this regard; you get what you pay for. I would recommend waiting and saving until you are ready to purchase one of the higher quality gimbals available. That way you only buy once.

It comes down to a number of factors, the size / weight of your lens/es, the weight you’re prepared to carry and your budget.
you could save for a top of the line model but it might be more than you need. If you buy a mid range one that suits your current needs then you’ll be enjoying the benefit of it now.

I chose mine (Sunwayphoto GH02) based on the above criteria plus frequency of use. Yep, it’s not a Wimberley or an RRS but it suits me fine

Recently a friend was having problems getting sharp images using his 500 f/4 lens. All the images were soft at a distance of 75 yards and longer. He was using it on a Manfrotto alloy tripod with a Jobu Jr. gimbal head.