Waterfall detail

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Jonathan

Waterfalls are a favorite subject of mine, though I haven't photographed any recently. I was going through some older photos and came across this one I took in Western North Carolina, thanks for looking!

366A3540.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

To me, you created a really nice affect here by "leaning in" to your subject rather than giving us a wider view of the whole falls. It's an example of what this author is talking about in an article I liked. https://photographylife.com/obvious-hidden-shot

Edit, I'll add that I'm trying to get my photos to be more interesting by thinking about non standard compositions, but I'm still a beginner...

I love this image. Taking partial/intimate shots of falls like this can really work well as demonstrated here. There are some real hidden gems of waterfalls in the western Carolinas. Wish I could spend a little time around there during spring/fall.

You captured my favorite part of Estatoe Falls in a fleeting light that I never encountered in many visits over the years. Great image! Sadly, this treasure is no longer available to the public. The property was sold several years ago and the new owners do not allow access.

I love the sunlight that filters through the trees and illuminates the water, giving it a soft, ethereal glow.
Thank you! I visited the falls a few times and this day was the only time I’ve seen the light like that.
To me, you created a really nice affect here by "leaning in" to your subject rather than giving us a wider view of the whole falls. It's an example of what this author is talking about in an article I liked. https://photographylife.com/obvious-hidden-shot