What makes a Nikon lens an S lens?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello All,

New guy here. I’m David Bostock from Portland, Oregon. I’ve been a long-time photographer starting out with Canon film cameras, then Canon digital. I switched to Fujifilm in 2018. After having nothing but problems with Fujifilm’s autofocus and subject detection, I sold it all in July and picked up the Nikon Z 8 and a few lenses. The new gear is fantastic; I wish I’d made the switch sooner. I do landscape, macro, and wildlife, mostly birds. Steve’s Nikon Z8 and Z9 Wildlife Setup Guide and Secrets to Stunning Bird-in-Flight Photography were fantastic in getting me up to speed quickly. Thank you Steve.

I got the Z 180-600mm for wildlife and really like it. All my other lenses are Nikon Z S lenses. So, what makes a Nikon lens an S lens? Just curious…

Looking forward to participating on these forums.

Cheers,
David

I have two S-line lenses (20mm & 24-120mm) and two non S-line lenses (40mm & 70-180mm). Based on just those four lenses, the overall build quality (fit and finish) of the S-line lenses is a little better. For example, the zoom ring of the 24-120mm is smoother and more damped than with the 70-180mm. The optical refinements/improvements seem to be a little more present in the S-line lenses. I think the S-line lenses also get some additional lens coatings applied but not sure that is consistently the case. IMHO, there are no glaring differences and you wouldn't know the pic was from an S-line lens unless I indicated so (or you obsessively pixel peep).

As described by Nikon, “S” lenses are developed to have Nikon’s highest level of optical performance. The use of high quality glass with meticulous finish, as well as various proprietary coatings, produce acuity across the image frame with minimized aberration.