Workflow modification adding Topaz Photo AI

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

As a newbie, I have another question for this wise group. My typical workflow for post processing is as follows:
  1. Transfer files from camera memory cards into my standard file folder structure on a SSD working drive and backup HD with another copy on iCloud. The folder structure has separate folders for each step of the process to keep the files separated and easy to search.
  2. Rename files using "A Better File Rename" program using the following format for search ability - YYYY-MM-DD HH_MM C-Basic Descriptor Text-123456-Editing Descriptor
  3. I cull and select files for further processing if needed with "Photo Mechanic 6"
  4. Since I shoot a D500 primary and a D7500 secondary, I use Nikon NX Studio for post adjustments and conversion to JPG. ****
  5. If I need a water mark to put the file name at the bottom of the pic for identification, I use "iWatermark Pro" and have a separate folder for WM photos.
Since I shoot manual, auto ISO, and there are times that I accept the fact it is better to push ISO, get noise, but get the shot rather than sacrifice shutter speed and DOF. Because of this, I have decided to get Topaz Photo AI to de-noise and sharpen as needed. I contacted Topaz Labs about where to place Photo AI in my workflow, but was a little surprised with their response and wanted to bounce it off everyone here.

Topaz recommends running the files through Photo AI prior to post processing in NX Studio, LR or PS. This is opposite of what I was expecting.

What do all of you do for this?