Z8: can I completely disable jpeg?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

mjais

Supporting Member
Hi,
it's probably not possible, I couldn't find anything but I wanted to ask, maybe I am missing something.

I am pretty new to the Z8 and currently reading Steve's awesome setup guide.

I had set up shootings banks for wildlife, macro and birds and basically changed the AF settings and VR.
I forgot about image quality. I only shoot RAW which was set for bank A (wildlife) but for bank B (birds) it was not set and today I accidentally only recorded jpegs of some nice grey heron shots.
I only noticed this at home.
It also sucks that Nikon sets it to "NORM" which doesn't even mean anything useful.

I've now set all banks to RAW and I may even abandon banks again, as Steve also uses the i-menu for everything if I understood him correctly but I am not yet at the i-menu section of his book (hopefully will finish it today).

That being said, the Z8 allows to turn off certain options but I would like to disable stuff like jpeg. My experience is, that if I can use the wrong settings accidentally, I probably will, no matter which camera.
So to protect myself, I would like to limit many things to the stuff I really want to use.

One idea might be to abandon banks and only add to the i-menu the stuff I regularly change and then not touch the rest of the menu much except for rarely used settings.

Markus

Perhaps start by going to the shooting menu - image quality.

This is where you can set RAW only, jpeg/HEIF only (three file sizes) or RAW plus 3 sizes of jpeg/HEIF.

I did go to that menu. What I want to do is to remove the jpeg options so that I cannot accidentally select jpeg again. I want the menu to only contain RAW.