Actions in Photoshop

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Butlerkid

Staff member
Supporting Member
Marketplace
Often in photoshop, there are certain things one does to each photograph they process. Creating an Action in PS can make many of those adjustments quick and easy to do.

What actions have you created in Photoshop?

Here are a few I use:

Copyright action

Content Aware Fill

High pass sharpening

Combo of Flatten, convert to sRGB, Save as JPG and "close without saving"

Last edited:
In my former life, I was a software engineer. I wrote a Photoshop script that uses the metadata information that I enter for all my keepers to create a notecard with each open image. I just open a set of images and go get a cup of coffee. When I come back there is a set of notecards ready to print. This is just about the only software I have created since I retired 10 years ago this week. This was originally a set of Actions but scripting was much more capable.

What actions have you created in Photoshop?
It's been a while since I created or used any Photoshop actions but like you I had an action to add copywrite on images (embossed look, transparent copywrite), had one for High Pass Sharpening and also had actions for stair step interpolation back when I did a lot of that for very low res digital cameras (I've printed 20"x30" gallery images from my Nikon D1H 2.7 mega pixel files but that took a lot of work :) ). I do remember one action I used for web forum posts that added an extended canvas border with drop shadows that I thought was fun at the time.

I'm sure I created some other actions as it was something I played with quite a bit before LR tools got the point where I really only launch PS for more complex edits but I can't really remember many of the actions that I used back then.