Beginner wildlife photographer looking to improve.

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello as per the title I am a beginner/enthusiast photographer who is looking to improve. I started a few years ago and quickly caught the bug for wildlife photography however due to work I ended up moving to a city with VERY little to no wildlife in or even reserves nearby and I lost the passion. I recently moved to Scotland and have been caught up again and more so than before and am LOVING it, however I would love to be able to improve and hoping there might be some pointers. Excuse if I haven't posted correctly I'm not sure how to attach EXIF info. I have very little experience and completely self taught on post processing so this is also something I'd wish to improve on. Thank you!
I also have downsized images for uploading/.

DSC_8376.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

DSC_8049.jpg
DSC_7521.jpg
DSC_7291.jpg

Last edited:
You might dig into Steve's free and low cost educational materials. I'm fairly experienced and still find useful information in rereading and re viewing them. Just look at his main page linked above left.

One thing I noticed on the pics above is to ask if you are familiar with exposure compensation? This overrides the metered exposure up or down. The usual rule of thumb is "background brighter - brighten." if the background is brighter you brighten the exposure with positive exposure compensation. This will keep the subjects from being to dark. If the background is darker then use negative exposure compensation to protect the subject from overexposure.

Last edited: