D850 Sharpness

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using the d850 for about 2-3 years(Starting bird photography about 5 years). First with 200-500 f5.6 and now with 600mm f4 E. I focus mainly on birds. When I first switched to 600mm f4, the change in sharpness wasn't as obvious as I expected. And I'd notice that most of the time, my photos can't even count as sharp. Is it just because I didn't get the focus right or it's the techniques that cause these problems?

I have several thoughts :
  1. I turn VR on all the time with my 600mm f4 E even on a tripod, and I rarely handheld, my shutter speed is usually around 800-3200, which I think is not that low being on a tripod. Should I consider turning off the VR, perhaps it helps with the image quality?
  2. Should I consider AF fine-tuning on my 600mm f4 E, cause as I mentioned, I constantly get photos that the focus point is right on the eye but still can't get a crisp sharp photo.
  3. I started shooting in Raw after switching to 600 f4 E, and all of my images on 200-500 f5.6 in JPEGs, but I didn't have Lightroom, instead, I use Darktable as an alternative. I notice that as I expected(or not), the raws were way softer than the JPEGs(with lots of adjustments in the camera) and even softer than the JPEGs from the camera after processing in the Darktable. I think that might be one of the reasons for softer photos. Should I consider switching back to JPEGs before buying Lightroom? - It might be that bigger RAWs files are capable of showing more noise and blurs than JPEGs.
  4. Maybe I was just taking photos too far away, I crop a lot... lol