External Hard Drive Recommendations?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Larry S.

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I am currently using a G-Drive 2TB ext/hd with 2017 27” iMac Retina display computer. I’ve had zero issue. Recently I watched A Scott Kelby video about organizing photos in LrC and he is adamant about 2(+?) ext/hds. I only have 15,300 photos. I’m a hobbyist, not a working professional so I don’t anticipate my library growing by leaps and bounds. Do I need or would it be wise to get a 2nd ext/hd? Do I really need more than 2TBs? Do the ext/hds need to be the same? All the ones I viewed on Amazon had USB/C connections. My iMac has the older USB ports which shouldn’t be a problem with an adapter, or is it? Kelby also said that ext/hds will die on you and then you lose everything unless you have the “cloud”, which I do… thoughts please…

I can only tell you what I do and what my method has been for many years.

Current photos go to my C: drive (Windows system). It is an SSD. By "current", I mean last few years. From time to time (roughly weekly) they get copied over to an offline 8TB USB hard drive. That drive gets hardly any use because it is only used a couple hours a month.

Every couple weeks or so all that current content gets copied to a third USB hard drive. That gives me 3 copies. And every few months, it gets copied again to one of two offsite hard drives that are rotated to my bank safety deposit box.

Older stuff (more than last few years) is moved from the SSD to a hard drive that is online (connected to the computer all the time). Sometimes that older stuff gets edited. Those changes are backed up the same as the current stuff.