Hummingbird Practice

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello, I'm a photographer for 30 years, but new to bird photography and just starting to practice a little more often with backyard birds. I am at the point now where I'd like some feedback/critique. My challenge is that I haven't upgraded my lens yet. The next lens up for me would entail a lot of weight and until I'm sure about how invested I am, the cost may be too high. If I keep at this, I'll probably need a new system, so obviously not going there yet. Just wanted to see if this is for me. Curious to know your thoughts. Thanks so much.
DSCF2595.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.
DSCF2398.jpg

I agree with Jerry, faster shutter speed and wide aperture.

I don't know anything about your camera body, but there are 150-500 and 150-600 options for the X mount from Tamron and Fujifilm. You probably already know that, though. :) 300mm is pretty short for most bird photography.

If you want to stick with mirrorless and not spend too much, I think the best way to move forward might be with a Fuji mount lens and the body you have now.

Good luck in your journey and HAVE FUN! :)

I agree with Jerry, faster shutter speed and wide aperture.

I don't know anything about your camera body, but there are 150-500 and 150-600 options for the X mount from Tamron and Fujifilm. You probably already know that, though. :) 300mm is pretty short for most bird photography.

If you want to stick with mirrorless and not spend too much, I think the best way to move forward might be with a Fuji mount lens and the body you have now.

Good luck in your journey and HAVE FUN! :)