Importing LRc Travel Catalog Learning and Best Practices

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

BarkingBeans Coffee

Michael H
Supporting Member
Marketplace
Later this week I will be on a 12 hour flight home. I already watched Oppenheimer and am not going to watch it 4 more times. I have an old MBA from 2018 with me. All my images including my iPhone ones are on a Samsung T7. I have Fast Raw Viewer and LRc and PS at my disposal to at least cull and maybe start to develop some images.

I have never created a second catalog. On page 490 of the LR Queen Missing FAQ she explains how to copy the new catalog and images over to the main computer, double click the travel catalog, re-link the files, and then import to main. Is it that simple? Are there other guides out there that anyone recommends reviewing?

I will certainly have backups of my main catalog and travel catalog before I do anything.

Any other “gotcha” items? I will not be key wording. I have set up FRV to match LRc in terms of shortcuts but doubt I will be using Pick and Reject for these. I will likely just rate the ones I want to use later on and those ratings should carry over when I copy the files.

Please keep the discussion to this issue and not alternatives. I wish to try this method as it will influence my future travel protocol and considerations in upgrading the old Mac which by the way is mostly used for roasting coffee. @Winston Churchill (Sir) note I don’t drill holes in my computers as they can be used as an emergency coaster for my emergency coffee cups.

Thanks everyone.

Last edited: