Lenses for Wildlife Trip in Alaska

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hi all - newbie here. Enjoy what I am seeing so far and look forward to many great discussions and learning some new stuff.

I have been applying for the McNeil river permit for several years now and I finally "won" a standby spot this summer. I am not going to lie I am a little disapointed it isn't a "guided" spot but they say you get to go. With all of that being said I am starting to plan for what I need to take with me and I am currently stuck on what to do about a lens. I want to purchase a new lens for the trip and I photograph youth sports mostly in Florida, with some shore birds, rocket launches and landscapes sprinkled in. I need a lightwieght zoom/telephoto, I have 300 f2.8, 150-600 tamron (which I just posted on ebay) and the trinity of lenses in those shorter focal range. With a trip like this weight is an obvious concern, which rules out the 300 almost immediately. I shoot Nikon mirrorless (z9/z6ii) and I am thinking of the 400 f4.5 or the 100-400 becasue they both weigh less than my 70-200. I am also an NPS member and will barrow a longer lens if available and was thinking about the 800 pf?

Any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Mike

Welcome to BCG! Glad you joined us!

I carry all my lenses, including the 600mm TC, and bodies in two carry on bags. My ThinkTank Airport Accelerator goes in the overhead and my computer bag (which generally includes a body or lens) goes under the seat in front of me. I try to keep the backpack to no more than 22 lbs.....since that is the max I can handle and lift into the overhead! I avoid wheeled bags since they are usually 3-5 lbs heavier....and flight attendants often single them out for gate checking. I also wear my photo vest and put as much in it as I can.