LR AI NR Question from Steve's Video

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Watched the video, which was very helpful overall, but it left me with a question. I'll preface by saying...I HATE post-processing, but...I get it...has to happen. Anyway, I'm no expert, but I am able to get what I want to happen. I could probably get a lot more to "happen" if I was more savvy, but...that's another thread. Here's my question. I had read several other LR expert explanations of how to approach AI NR in Lightroom, and they state that it should generally be done first with no sharpening or adjustment to the image. Then, adjust and sharpen the DNG and go from there. That's what I have been doing and it's been pretty amazing. Steve is making some adjustments prior to applying denoise. He does a very good job explaining that this is just one approach, but I'd like to understand it a little better. Do you prefer pre-NR adjustments or not and why?
If you care to contribute to my education...appreciation in advance.

He said he does basic stuff like exposure and WB before NR…if the shot is reasonably exposed I just do NR and then those but a little exposure change or WB doesn’t really affect the noise much. I generally run DxO for NR first although sometimes Topaz AI and I do need to try his techniques side by side on a photo or three to see if the improvement is worth the extra time it takes. I wish DxO had an adjustment slider to change the level of NR but you have to buy their more expensive LR equivalent for that.