Nikon Z lens -are S lenses worth it ?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Ho

Well. I’ve gone to the Z8. I am an experienced photographer. Not pro, mostly wildlife, landscape and some Astro. Fir my Ken pleasure. Some prints but I don’t sell.
Looking at the rather large price differential between “normal” Z lenses vs the S line, my question is - is there really that much of a difference. ? Especially compared to the F mount lenses…

Yes. The S lenses are better quality. S for Superior? Nobody knows. But generally the non-S lenses aren’t so sharp at the edges and corners a little softer at times. That’s a generalisation. Also it does look like all the S lenses perform better than their F equivalent.
But yes, some of the F lenses are terrific and work well with the FTZ adaptor.

Equivalent optic for equivalent optic there is a difference.
This can include flare control and AF speed as well as a resolution.

S lenses with two autofocus motors tend to hold higher resolution over a wide range of focusing distances whereas F mount lens tend to be at their optical best at only one focus distance.

Most high quality F Mount lenses come with a reasonable lens case. Z mound lenses do not.

Yes. The S lenses are better quality. S for Superior? Nobody knows. But generally the non-S lenses aren’t so sharp at the edges and corners a little softer at times. That’s a generalisation. Also it does look like all the S lenses perform better than their F equivalent.
But yes, some of the F lenses are terrific and work well with the FTZ adaptor.
Thanks. Do you mean that all of the Z lenses ( not just S line ) perform better that the F mounts in general? I’m using my 500PF and 70-200 f 2.8 F lenses with the FTZ ii and they seem fine..