Plover in Golden Hour - My first backlit attempt!!

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

This is my first try in intentionally attempting backlight shots. I had a couple lucky instances before where I happened to see subjects with sun behind them but this was me fixed to try it beforehand. Got to say it is quite difficult to get an initial focus and then maintain it on such fast moving subjects and to catch them at peak action. But overall happy with the result. What do you guys think?? ( I may have brought the saturation bit over but kinda like this look :) )

plover_sunset_backlight 1200px.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

Gear used : Nikon D7100 with Nikkor 200-500 VR

This is my first try in intentionally attempting backlight shots. I had a couple lucky instances before where I happened to see subjects with sun behind them but this was me fixed to try it beforehand. Got to say it is quite difficult to get an initial focus and then maintain it on such fast moving subjects and to catch them at peak action. But overall happy with the result. What do you guys think?? ( I may have brought the saturation bit over but kinda like this look :) )

View attachment 30273
Gear used : Nikon D7100 with Nikkor 200-500 VR
I like it! Well done👍👍

I think, it is excellent done: the black silhouette on the beautiful bokeh. Good perspective with low stand-point. Next time I would try to get more bokeh having the bird smaller in frame and place it in some of 1/3 (rather more bokeh down than up) And I would try also to have 3 or 5 birds if possible, perhaps waiting for some special pattern/pose of all.