RECOMMENDATIONS FOR A RAID 5 ARRAY FOR DESKTOP

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

The reason I joined in on this thread was people who did not have NAS were discouraging getting it. I just wanted to give my experience that has been good. I am a retired software engineer and still write programs for myself. So I also use it for backing up versions of my code. Good Luck
A clarification, my rambling above was an attempt to give my understanding of how some of this stuff works to the broader audience. As you own a Synology, I assume you know more about its capabilities than I do, and since you also have a tech background that is assuredly true.

Adding a tidbit that slightly amused me ...

As I was looking at more stuff today, I noticed that Apples APFS filesystem has snapshots, but they are mostly hidden, used I think as the basis for TM incremental backups and as a recovery point for system upgrades. You can drop to the command line and create your own snapshots, but I can't tell yet if you can easily access files in a snapshot (at the very least, you have to mount the snapshot). They are not exposed as a general purpose, easy to use file recovery mechanism without invoking Time Machine and using the actual backups.

Just a minor tidbit ... filesystem snapshots are cool.

Last edited:
A clarification, my rambling above was an attempt to give my understanding of how some of this stuff works to the broader audience. As you own a Synology, I assume you know more about its capabilities than I do, and since you also have a tech background that is assuredly true.
Totally understand. Do I really have to have the NAS, no. But it is nice to access my data from everywhere we travel. Which is a lot these days.