Request your advise (D850)

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

June last year I traded my Nikon D780 in and boought a Nikon D850 back. So far so good. After a couple of weeks using the D850, I noticed I did not have as many keepers as I had with my D780. Lens is the same: Sigma 10-600 Sports.
Pictures are not crisp sharp. Whatever I try, high shutter speed (>1/2000 for birds in flight), ISO limitted to 800, different Aperature settings, nothing gives me many crisp sharp pictures. Today I was confronted again. A Marsh Harrier approached me from the front. I started shooting till the bird was aout of sight.
I made about 80 shots, most are not usable. I attached one. Only edit is made it a JPG from the RAW. Used DxO Photolabs 7. DxO did only optical corrections,not further post processing. I had to resize it from 8256 px wide to 1980 px wide due to limit of this forum.
When needed, I can send the RAW file.

I am wondering what is wrong with this picture, what should I do to get more crisp sharp photo's from BIF?
Is it a hardware issue (lens or body), is it me, pix peeping or something else?

Please help, I do get some second thoughts on the aquirance of the D850 ....

Tino

Attachments

• _8506821_DxO BCF.jpg
    _8506821_DxO BCF.jpg
    1,023.8 KB · Views: 118
The D850 is an outstanding camera. Many (myself included) say the best DSLR ever made, so that cannot be the issue. Looking at this small image your shot seems sharp to me. However, the bird is very small in the frame so if you crop to make it fill the frame it will get pixelated (which appears unsharp). I wonder if your shots with D850 have been farther away than shots you kept from D780?