Spot Metering changes ISO in a burst on Z9

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I am a bird photographer and I have been using Spot Metering on Nikon DSLRs (D810, D5, D6) and now on Z9 for many years now with success. The other day I was shooting a male Ruby-throated Hummingbird on a flowering plant with green background. In a burst of 10 shots I noticed that my ISO changed from 640 to 720 to 1400 and to 2500 even though the relative position of the bird (and hence the focus point that was on the bird) didn't change in any of the frames. I read Steve's crash course on Spot Metering and understand that since it is bigger than the size of the AF point, it is likely underexpose or overexpose depending on where it lands. However, when the subject position is relatively constant one should expect the exposure remaining the same over a burst of frames. By the way I was using 3D AF mode with 4.0 FW. Here are screen captures of two full frame photos (7th and 10th frame) from the burst, the focal point is shown as red rectangle. Any suggestions/comments?
ISO 640.JPG
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

ISO 2500.JPG
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

The humming birds wing beats are supper fast. Could it have out paced the camera's ability to keep up, since the wing has different tones on the top vs the bottom surface?
Good suggestion; however, that is very unlikely as similar wing position a few frames earlier had ISO 640 and 1400. Also, why didn't the camera got back to 640 when the wing position changed, instead it progressively got worse.

there is an option (I think) to have the camera use the initial exposure for the entire burst. Or go to manual. Suspect that this may be due to beating of the wings and cause area on the hummer to look darker than it is.