suggestions needed for a bird photo

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello Steve and everybody,

my equipment is: Nikon D500 + Nikkor 200-500mm F5.6

I'm Alex and I'm from Italy. I've got a question about a pic taken today in the morning (about 8.30 am) . It was a cloudy and grey day, with low light , clouds low in the sky and a little haze in the air.
I'd like to understand from you experts why this pic has come out "soft" and "hazy" .

The subject was quite close (between 20 and 30 meters approximately) and the shot settings were:

500mm - 1/3200 - f5.6 - iso 180

shutter speed was fast and iso low, so why all this haziness and softness?

this is the link to the pic:

www.flickr.com/photos/48743015@N03/51944357417/in/datetaken-public/

Thanks a lot
Alex

Hi Alex,
I’m no expert but my feeling is that there just wasn‘t enough light to get a nice sharp image . I have never had great luck with images taken on days like that unless I was right on top of the subject. How Sharp are you images on days when there is plenty of light available? If they are consistently Sharp than I’ll stand by my initial feeling that there is not enough light. If they aren’t than there Is something else going on. Next time in that situation, increase the ISO or Exposure compensation and see what happens. There is usually a lot of glare which can confuse the camera.

Last edited:
I agree with Ralph - poor light contributed to the softness. Increase your ISO. Also, were you hand holding or on a tripod? While the lens VR certainly can handle some camera motion, it has its limitations. You're always better off using a tripod whenever possible. Lastly, it's possible that the atmospheric haze you mentioned contributed to the image softness/haziness. Hope this helps.