Z8 Battery life

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

I am new to mirrorless. I have a D500 and a D4 and I was holding out to buying the Z9 until yesterday. After watching Steve's review, I placed the order for a Z8. I was surprised to read you can only take 340 - 370 shots, I can take that many on a walk and when I go on a trip, I'll take a couple of thousand in a day. The D5 battery lasted me a lot more than 340 shots. Am I missing something or will I need to carry 3-4 batteries with me now? Thanks

Never trust CIPA numbers. They use a weird testing method that doesn't reflect real-world shooting. With mirrorless cameras, it's more about how long your using the EVF / LCD than it is the pure number of shots. I'll have some numbers eventually - but I know it's over 340 (I shot more than that yesterday and didn't put a dent the battery charge).

Never trust CIPA numbers. They use a weird testing method that doesn't reflect real-world shooting. With mirrorless cameras, it's more about how long your using the EVF / LCD than it is the pure number of shots. I'll have some numbers eventually - but I know it's over 340 (I shot more than that yesterday and didn't put a dent the battery charge).
Thanks, I figured it waould be a "technically speaking" kind of number. I look forward to your review in the field.

Thanks, I figured it waould be a "technically speaking" kind of number. I look forward to your review in the field.
As Steve and others have said - CIPA numbers are not real life numbers, however battery life will be less than a DSLR given the same shooting style. So before you go out on your first photo shoot I'd get at least one extra battery and keep and eye on the meter.