Z9 Eye Detection Expectations - Birds in Flight

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

BarkingBeans Coffee

Michael H
Supporting Member
Marketplace
I am curious about what my expectations should be. I was reading the Autofocus book on Eye Detection and saw that the subject needs to fill the frame. Below is a cropped image. Under the site guidelines of image size it's hard to see but the closer Pelican is tack sharp using Wide Area-Large. (I guess I need get a gallery to link on another site)

However, the camera did not pick up the eye. Is it just too far away as the Pelican didn't fill the frame enough? What should I expect? Any examples would be appreciated.

Since it didn't pick up the eye, I didn't engage 3D tracking with my AF-ON button.

I am new to BIF and Wildlife so trying to refine my expectations and up my skills before a trip to Africa.

Thanks in advance. Happy to answer any questions.

Flying Pelicans small.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

Screen Shot 2022-10-16 at 8.13.27 AM.jpg

Subject detection tends to favor more "classic" looking birds, so it may struggle with a pelican, particularly one in flight (subject detection is often better at detecting eyes in stationary subjects than it is in moving one). In this case, keeping a Wide AF area on the face is probably the best bet.

Thank you so maybe I should have engaged 3-D tracking and see what it would have locked onto?
3D would likely wander around the body unless you really got it on the eye (the yellow helps since 3D likes color). Still, if it were me, I'd use Wide in this scenario and probably turn subject detection off so it didn't try to go for the body.