Z9 file transfers (best way and preferences)?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

KurtH

Supporting Member
Marketplace
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the Z9, coming off a Z7ii, Z6, D800, D300, etc. I used to be a card reader guy with all my digitals but I've recently moved over to using the Z9's ethernet port for my transfers. It seems easier, it's automated, and it helps to minimize/eliminate the wear and tear on the camera door. Since there are several ways to accomplish the same task of getting the files off the camera and onto the desired storage media, I thought I would pose the question(s) on this forum to see what others are doing...and why.

As I understand it, there are 4 basic ways to transfer files off the Z9 (or other cameras with an ethernet adaptor); card reader, WiFi, Ethernet, and USB-C. Am I missing another way?

While the USB port offers a speedier transfer rate over wifi and Ethernet, I'm not too keen on using the USB port as it will potentially wear over time (as with a USB port on most phones that I've owned). The cable/connector can come out fairly easily and/or can get yanked out on an angle if you're not careful. So I opted for the next speediest option, the ethernet port. I prefer this option over USB because of the positive connection, the click I hear when the connector is in, and the tab that holds the connector in during transfers. It's next to impossible to damage that port unless you're using a bad connector or are overly careless with the connection. I also do not like placing the camera close to the computer just to make the USB connection, seems awkward with the limited space I have on my desk.