Z9 FW 5.0 Possible Bug

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Warren D

I was out this morning shooting an egret in flight. After 30 frames or so the camera locked up. The image in the VF froze. I tried to turn the camera off but none of the controls responded. I pulled the battery and that seemed to restore function. I tried to replicate the problem but was not able to after 10+ strings of 50-80 shots each.
Z9, 800pf, Delkin Black 325, M w/auto ISO, subject detection on bird, 1/3200 sec, f6.3. I've switched cards and will see what happens this afternoon.
I've shot this combo the same way for over a year and a half with no issues, the only change is the FW update.

Just seems odd. I've been shooting digital for 24 years and this is the first lock up I've had. I've had 2 bad cards but both were DOA, never had one go south during use. First time out with the new firmware so it seems more than just co-incidence. I'll try the other body, same type/size of card and see what happens.
Thanks to all for weighing in.

Just seems odd. I've been shooting digital for 24 years and this is the first lock up I've had. I've had 2 bad cards but both were DOA, never had one go south during use. First time out with the new firmware so it seems more than just co-incidence. I'll try the other body, same type/size of card and see what happens.
Thanks to all for weighing in.
I think the architecture of the current cameras is more reminiscent of a computer than a camera and I think they are susceptible to the same kind of software glitches.

I had a lock up with my newest Z9 last month. I was not sure if it was operator error or a problem with the camera. I had one other earlier lock up incident and then no more for months.

Turned out it was not operator error ... the rest of the story.