Z9 sensor performance Photonstophotos

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Data added 28th December by Bill Claff, who posted some insights in his dpr thread

An important insight from the Z9 DR and noise is the dual gain switches at ~ISO500 (compared to ~ISO 800 in Z6)

EDIT graphs added
PDR_D6_Z6_Z7_Z9.png

Read Noise D6_Z6_Z7_Z9.png

PDR_Shadow D6_Z6_Z7_Z9.png

Last edited:
I'm no electronics engineer! In my my own interpretation one is carrying at least 2 cameras in one above and below a level of illumination/exposure. Or rather the same sensor being read by 2 different Analog amplifiers before the conversion of the Analog signal into digital (the pulses of photo-stimulated electrons are amplified). Why ? This is to minimize Read Noise before the weaker i.e. lowe amplitude signals are converted into digital.

The practical benefits apply to RAW images to optimize the tonality etc of images, as these can be postprocessed. The ISO is a metadata setting in the RAW file, but its value depends on the ISO setting applied to the exposure, because the settings are relative to one of two different baselines.