Z9: Settings for Flash

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

McStamp

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I am not experienced at all when it comes to shooting with flashes. I started, however, some trials with shooting night active animals and I am using two remote flashes (Profoto). Would you mind sharing your experiences with the settings in the Z9 - or similar - as to exposure compensation (e3) and auto ISO sensitivity control (e4). Do you shoot in M mode with auto ISO or do you prefer another mode?

Thanks for giving me your input, highly appreciated!

The majority of my professional shooting is done with my Z9, and I'm also a Profoto user, so I hope I can help.

I use no exposure compensation.

Assuming I have sufficient lighting, I shoot at ISO 64 the vast majority of the time, depending on how lit I want my background to be.

I do shoot in M.

I'm happy to answer any specific questions you might have. What lights are you using, A10s? Are you using them both off camera?

I don't have a Z9 but I think that auto ISO will do you no favours using flash at night. Auto ISO is great when you are shooting and the ambient light is varying, but when you have complete control over the light manual mode is the best on the camera and flash. Exposure compensation again is unnecessary when you have control over the light.

Here's another one from their website:

To get your Nikon fully compatible with Profoto you should
change the camera settings below for full support.

HSS
Select the option that ends with “(Auto FP)” in the Flash Sync Speed menu (e1)

Note: The actual shutter speed for Auto FP differs dependent on the camera, usually this is "1/250 (Auto FP)"

Disable Auto ISO

Later Nikon cameras (Z-series) will have Auto ISO enabled by default, for AirTTL to work properly this should be disabled.